Schoeman returns to start against Province
17:00 Thu, 22 Aug 2019
Schoeman returns to start against Province | News Article
Tian Schoeman - Morgan Piek
The Toyota Free State Cheetahs will see the return of the flyhalf, Tian Schoeman, for Saturday’s crucial Currie Cup clash against Western Province in Bloemfontein.

Schoeman has recovered from a calf injury he sustained against the Golden Lions, and he will be taking charge of the backline once again.

In another major change to the backline, William Small-Smith moves from wing to inside centre, where he will partner Benhard Janse van Rensburg. This move paves the way for Darren Adonis to start on the after he too has recovered from an injury.

Ruan Pienaar will once again start at scrumhalf, with the captain, Tian Meyer, playing on the left-wing.

Upfront the most notable change is at tighthead prop, where Boan Venter dons the number three jersey. The Namibian international, Aranos Coetzee, will play off the bench.

Joseph Dweba also returns to the starting team, with Jacques du Toit moving to the replacements.

Schalk van der Merwe will once against start at loosehead prop.

In the second row, Sintu Manjezi earns a start at the expense of JP du Preez, however, he swaps jerseys with Walt Steenkamp. In the backrow, Abongile Nonkontwana moves back into the starting team, with Gerhard Olivier, rotating back to the bench.

A win for the Cheetahs will be crucial to confirm their spot in the semi-finals, but booking a home semi-final will be the first prize.

Meyer told OFM Sport they cannot afford any soft moments against the team from Cape Town.

“After the two previous close loses getting the win in the next match was great. The boys are all positive for this week and the training has gone well.

“The excitement is high for the game and we are excited about the possibly pulling it through.

“At crucial moments you can play the best rugby out there and it takes one or two errors at the wrong time it can go the other way. We’ve seen that this season. Focus for the form game and being at our sharpest for the full 80 or minutes, or however long we are out there will be required.”

Saturday’s game at the Toyota Stadium in Bloemfontein kicks off at 17:15.

Toyota Free State Cheetahs – 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Darren Adonis, 13 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 12 William Small-Smith, 11 Tian Meyer (captain), 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Henco Venter, 7 Abongile Nonkontwana, 6 Junior Pokomela, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Sintu Manjezi, 3 Boan Venter, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Schalk van der Merwe.

Replacements – 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Ox Nche, 18 Aranos Coetzee, 19 JP du Preez, 20 Gerhard Olivier, 21 Jasper Wiese, 22 Dries Swanepoel/ Dian Badenhorst, 23 Louis Fouché.

Western Province - 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Rikus Pretorius, 11 SP Marais, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Justin Phillips, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 JD Schickerling, 6 Ernst van Rhyn, 5 Chris van Zyl, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Corne Fourie.

Replacements - 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Neethling Fouché, 19 Nama Xaba, 20 Juarno Augustus, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 23 Seabelo Senatla.

@MorganPiek OFM Sport

Related Articles:

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our site, you agree to our use of cookies. Tell me more