Boks wary of wounded All Blacks in Nelspruit

───   MORGAN PIEK 08:47 Fri, 05 Aug 2022

Boks wary of wounded All Blacks in Nelspruit | News Article
Pieter-Steph du Toit - Getty

The Springboks flanker Pieter-Steph du Toit is expecting the All Blacks to come hard at them when these two teams clash in Nelspruit tomorrow in the Rugby Championship.

The Springboks are feeling somewhat confident ahead of the Test after their hard-fought series victory against Wales.

The All Blacks by contrast are under pressure but they have opted to stick largely with continuity for the encounter.

Du Toit, who has more than his share of Tests against the New Zealanders, said they will want to prove a point.

“In the close games we have lost to New Zealand over the last few years, we have had a tendency to fall away at the breakdowns in the last quarter.

“They have won vital turnovers to give them opportunities to win the games. This game on Saturday will again be close and we have to keep focused on the breakdown until the final whistle.”

“If you look at their first Test against Ireland they played extremely well, they were as good as they have ever been in the past, and in the next two games they made some mistakes that Ireland exploited but that does not make them a bad team all of a sudden.

“Instead of just criticising the All Blacks, more credit should have been given to how well Ireland played.”

Tomorrow’s Test at the Mbombela Stadium kicks off at 17:05.

Springboks - 15 Damian Willemse, 14 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Trevor Nyakane.

Replacements - 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Salmaan Moerat, 20 Franco Mostert, 21 Kwagga Smith, 22 Jaden Hendrikse, 23 Willie le Roux.

All Blacks – 15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Will Jordan, 13 Rieko Ioane, 12 David Havili, 11 Caleb Clarke, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Ardie Savea, 7 Sam Cane (captain), 6 Akira Ioane, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Sam Whitelock, 3 Angus Ta'avao, 2 Samisoni Taukei'aho, 1 George Bower,

Replacements - 16 Dane Coles, 17 Ethan de Groot, 18 Tyrel Lomax, 19 Tupou Vaa’i, 20 Shannon Frizell, 21 Finlay Christie, 22 Richie Mo’unga, 23 Quinn Tupaea,

Morgan Piek/OFM Sport

@ 2022 OFM - All rights reserved Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | We Use Cookies - OFM is a division of Central Media Group (PTY) LTD.