Cheetahs opt for backline speed against Cardiff
14:00 Fri, 08 Nov 2019
Cheetahs opt for backline speed against Cardiff | News Article
Anthony Volmink - Johan Pretorius / Gallo
Ruan Pienaar returns the Toyota Cheetahs starting line-up to captain the team in their Guinness PRO14 round six clash against the Cardiff Blues.

Upfront, Luan de Bruin, will start at loosehead prop, while Walt Steenkamp starts at lock again and Gerhard Olivier returns to flank.

Other changes in the backline sees William Small-Smith starting at outside centre, with Benhard Janse van Rensburg moving to the inside and Anthony Volmink returning to the wing.

The Cheetahs coach, Hawies Fourie, indicated that he opted for a fast backline due to the artificial pitch they will be playing on.

“We came over with winning all three of the games, unfortunately, we lost the first two matches narrowly and this is our last opportunity to record a victory.

“We have chosen the team to have a lot of speed in the backline, and I believe that the fast G4 pitch is a match made in heaven for players such as Anthony Volmink, Rhyno Smith, Clayton Blommetjies and William Small-Smith.

“We believe that if we get enough good front football our outside backs with punch good holes in the defence and score some good tries for us with their speed and good feet.”

The eighthman, Jasper Wiese, told OFM Sport that if they can win the battle upfront it will make it a lot easier for the backline to their job in trying to secure a first win on tour.

“I think that Cardiff has a really good pack, but our guys have matured a lot over the last while. I feel that we can challenge them upfront.

“If we can win the battle upfront we will make it a lot easier for our backs.

“We don’t want to go on tour and just beat a team like Zebre. So it will be a good challenge this weekend and I’m a 100% convinced that we can with this game.”

Saturday’s game at Cardiff Arms Park kicks off at 19:15.

Cardiff Blues - 15 Matthew Morgan, 14 Harri Millard, 13 Rey Lee-Lo, 12 Jarrod Evans, 11 Aled Summerhill, 10 Jason Tovey, 9 Lloyd Williams (captain), 8 Nick Williams, 7 Will Boyde, 6 Shane Lewis-Hughes, 5 Seb Davies, 4 Josh Turnbull, 3 Scott Andrews, 2 Liam Belcher, 1 Corey Domachowski.

Replacements - 16 Kirby Myhill, 17 Brad Thyer, 18 Keiron Assiratti, 19 Macauley Cook, 20 Alun Lawrence, 21 Lewis Jones, 22 Willis Halaholo, 23 Jason Harries.

Toyota Cheetahs - 15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Clayton Blommetjies, 13 William Small-Smith, 12 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Ruan Pienaar (captain), 8 Japser Wiese, 7 Junior Pokomela, 6 Gerhard Olivier, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Sintu Manjezi, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Luan de Bruin.

Replacements – 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17 Boan Venter, 18 Erich de Jager, 19 JP du Preez, 20 Sias Koen, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 George Whitehead, 23 Louis Fouché

@MorganPiek OFM Sport

Related Articles:

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our site, you agree to our use of cookies. Tell me more